The ramblings of a former DWP Civil Servant ...

Number 7: DWP Statistics

I do not think it would take much to improve on IDS’s lamentable performance in this area; however, I have two particular concerns that I feel need to be addressed.

I have set out above the matter of clerical claims. I am not clear how these are put together for inclusion in the figures published by the Office National Statistics (on behalf of DWP). I know that, in the past, clerical JSA claims had to be counted manually each month for the claimant count. If that is still the case, then what is the likelihood that such figures are accurate, if payments for those claims are currently being missed?

When DWP commissioned Universal Jobsmatch, they broke the link between the vacancy part of the Labour Market System’s database and externally provided statistics. Therefore, the vacancies notified to DWP are not available to use as a proxy…

View original post 82 more words

