alittleecon

WP_000511

I am on strike today. I actually voted no to strike action, but feel I needed to respect the collective decision of my union’s members. I lot of my colleagues however do not feel the same way and are not participating in the strike. The picture above is from the rally held in Bradford City Park this morning. These rallies are usually held outside the steps of City Hall, but there is an urban festival there this weekend so we were shunted over to one side. This was probably a good thing as there were only a couple of hundred people there (mostly union stewards) even though seven unions were on strike. Meanwhile, the Conservatives make hay with their announcement of plans to bring in yet more anti-union laws.

Good private sector companies understand the need for unions, knowing that proper consultation with workers can lead to improvements in efficiency and…

View original post 667 more words

