The ramblings of a former DWP Civil Servant ...

I would like to share with you the details of a project that perfectly illustrates why we can get more out of the European Union than we put into it.

In the early 2000s, I joined the East Birmingham and North Solihull Regeneration Zone as its Employment Development Manager. I had recently completed a tour of duty within the Employment Service and I was being transferred to a new role monitoring the ES’s European Social Fund Co-Financing contracts in Birmingham and Solihull. An important, but mundane position in comparison with the jobs I had held with the ES in the previous ten years or so.

In retrospect, I was probably being rested and, tactfully, reminded that jobs like the one to which I was being moved were just as important as the highflying ones I had been involved with previously. Anyway, I played my face, partly because I had proposed…

View original post 1,470 more words

