The ramblings of a former DWP Civil Servant ...

I do not think; if I had written Beyond the Barriers that I would have devoted nine pages to the Work Programme. I would just have written, scrap it and recycle the money to use to better effect elsewhere. However, it is best I guess to not lightly dismiss it out of hand.

In my opinion, the WP has failed all those participating within it, regardless of their personal circumstances. The WP was doomed to fail from the off. The WP was predicated on the idea that the private sector knows best and that payment by results would help the full spectrum of participants within it. Neither assumption has been proven and was not proven when Employment Zone providers roamed some of the most deprived areas of England. They often did not know best and to get the full tranche of money per person they focused on the easiest to…

View original post 835 more words

